Angebote zu "Youth" (4 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Friend of My Youth
€ 11.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

WINNER OF THE NOBEL PRIZE® IN LITERATURE 2013 The ten miraculously accomplished stories in Alice Munro´s Friend of My Youth not only astonish and delight but also convey the unspoken mysteries at the heart of all human experience. ´´[Friend of My Youth is] a wonderful collection of stories, beautifully written and deeply felt.´´--Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Dec 10, 2018
Zum Angebot
Friend of My Youth
€ 9.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

**Winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature** A woman haunted by dreams of her dead mother. An adulterous couple stepping over the line where the initial excitement ends and the pain begins. A widow visiting a Scottish village in search of her husband´s past - and instead discovering unsettling truths about a total stranger. The ten stories in this collection not only astonish and delight but also convey the unspoken mysteries at the heart of all human experience.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Dec 10, 2018
Zum Angebot
Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6) (...
€ 2.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the sixth acclaimed mystery from Anne Perry, Thomas and Charlotte Pitt must discover the truth of a young gentleman´s sordid murder - or an innocent man will hang. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger. ´The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry´s] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes´ - Cleveland Plain Dealer The naked body of an aristocratic youth turns up in the sewers beneath Bluegate Fields, one of London´s most notorious slums. But Arthur Waybourne had been drowned in his bath, not in the Thames. More shocking still is the discovery that the boy had been violated and infected with syphilis before his murder. Despite Inspector Thomas Pitt´s efforts to investigate the crime, the family closes ranks, leaving him to wonder what they are hiding. All evidence points to Arthur´s tutor, Jerome, as the murderer, but Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, don´t believe the answer is so simple. But if not Jerome, then who? To learn the truth, Charlotte uses her familiarity with the upper classes to draw aside the curtain of lies, while Pitt defies his superior and the boy´s family to follow a trail that leads him into the foulest streets of London through a web of deceit. In a race against time, Thomas and Charlotte must find the real killer to save Jerome from the hangman´s noose. ´A thought-provoking whodunit´ ´Yet again Anne Perry keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. Her knowledge of Victorian London is remarkable ´ ´ Another winner for Anne Perry - five stars ´

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Dec 10, 2018
Zum Angebot
To Mock a Mocking Bird (eBook, ePUB)
€ 11.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In this entertaining and challenging new collection of logic puzzles, Raymond Smullyan-author of What Is the Name of This Book? And The Lady or the Tiger?-continues to delight and astonish us with his gift for making available, in the thoroughly pleasurable form of puzzles, some of the most important mathematical thinking of our time. In the first part of the book, he transports us once again to that wonderful realm where knights, knaves, twin sisters, quadruplet brothers, gods, demons, and mortals either always tell the truth or always lie, and where truth-seekers are set a variety of fascinating problems. The section culminates in an enchanting and profound metapuzzle (a puzzle about a puzzle), in which Inspector Craig of Scotland Yard gets involved in a search of the Fountain of Youth on the Island of Knights and Knaves. In the second and larger section, we accompany the Inspector on a summer-long adventure into the field of combinatory logic (a branch of logic that plays an important role in computer science and artificial intelligence). His adventure, which includes enchanted forests, talking birds, bird sociologists, and a classic quest, provides for us along the way the pleasure of solving puzzles of increasing complexity until we reach the Master Forest and-thanks to Gödel´s famous theorem-the final revelation. To Mock a Mockingbird will delight all puzzle lovers-the curious neophytes as well as the serious students of logic, mathematics, or computer science.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Dec 10, 2018
Zum Angebot