Stöbern Sie durch unsere Angebote (19 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

Infographics: Human Body
€ 13.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Complex facts about the human body are reinterpreted as stylish infographics, which astonish, amuse and inform by turn. Researched by the Guardian´s Datablog expert and designed by the father of infographics, Peter Grundy, this is a book of the highest pedigree.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 26, 2018
Zum Angebot
Rogues
€ 9.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This thrilling collection of twenty-one all-original stories, by an all-star list of contributors, will delight and astonish in equal measure with their cunning twists and dazzling reversals. George R. R. Martin himself offers a brand-new A Game of Thrones tale, chronicling one of the biggest rogues in the entire history of Ice and Fire.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 26, 2018
Zum Angebot
Friend of My Youth
€ 11.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

WINNER OF THE NOBEL PRIZE® IN LITERATURE 2013 The ten miraculously accomplished stories in Alice Munro´s Friend of My Youth not only astonish and delight but also convey the unspoken mysteries at the heart of all human experience. ´´[Friend of My Youth is] a wonderful collection of stories, beautifully written and deeply felt.´´--Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 26, 2018
Zum Angebot
Friend of My Youth
€ 9.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

**Winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature** A woman haunted by dreams of her dead mother. An adulterous couple stepping over the line where the initial excitement ends and the pain begins. A widow visiting a Scottish village in search of her husband´s past - and instead discovering unsettling truths about a total stranger. The ten stories in this collection not only astonish and delight but also convey the unspoken mysteries at the heart of all human experience.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 26, 2018
Zum Angebot
Infographics: Technology
€ 10.49 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The fourth book in the visually stunning Infographics series, which showcases information and data in stunning graphic visualisations. Complex facts about technology are explained through stylish information graphics, which astonish, amuse and inform with each turn of the page. In the seven tabbed sections learn the history of computers from the abacus to the tablet, see inside a smartphone, check out the robots working all around the world, discover how 3D printing works, follow the steps of CGI animation, take a look at the tech of a record-breaking car and imagine what the generation ships of the future could look like. Researched by the Guardian´s Datablog expert, Simon Rogers, and illustrated by the inimitably brilliant Studio Muti. Contents: High-Tech World, Computers, Robot Age, Medical Marvels, On the Move, Communications and Tomorrow´s World. Word count: 15,000

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Nov 2, 2018
Zum Angebot
Spiritual Enlightenment
€ 25.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From a Spiritual Master Unlike Any, A Spiritual Masterpiece Like No Other AUTHOR, TEACHER AND SPIRITUAL MASTER Jed McKenna tells it like it´s never been told before. A true American original, Jed succeeds where countless others have failed by reducing this highest of attainments - Spiritual Enlightenment - to the simplest of terms. Effectively demystifying the mystical, Jed astonishes the reader not by adding to the world´s collected spiritual wisdom, but by taking the spirituality out of spiritual enlightenment. Never before has this elusive topic been treated in so engaging and accessible a manner. A masterpiece of illuminative writing, Spiritual Enlightenment is mandatory reading for anyone following a spiritual path. Part exposé and part how-to manual, this is the first book to explain why failure seems to be the rule in the search for enlightenment - and how the rule can be broken. Says Jed: The truth is that enlightenment is neither remote nor unattainable. It is closer than your skin and more immediate than your next breath. If we wonder why so few seem able to find that which can never be lost, we might recall the child who was looking in the light for a coin he dropped in the dark because ´´the light is better over here.´´ Mankind has spent ages looking in the light for a coin that awaits us not in light and not in dark, but beyond all opposites. That is the message of this book: Spiritual enlightenment, pure and simple.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 26, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Rose-Colored World and Other Fantasies (Cla...
€ 35.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Excerpt from The Rose-Colored World and Other Fantasies Don waring stretched his long limbs, yawned gener onely and opened his eyes, opened his eyes indeed, and stared amazedly at the sky through the trees. Stared, stared as he had never done before in his life, for Don´s eyes were usually only half open. He stared without blinking till his eyes felt sore; stared with an astonish ment which rarely disturbs such easy-going, indolent mortals as Mr. Don Waring. Something surely most unusual had happened. And well he might stare! For above him, among the leaves and branches, glared the rosiest sky he had ever seen. Rose! Rose like the crushed leaves of the reddest roses. Rose to the north, rose to the east, rose to the south, rose to the west - a ¿aming, radiant, brilliant rose spread everywhere to the horizon. Intoxicating rose! About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Nov 14, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Rose-Colored World and Other Fantasies (Cla...
€ 17.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Excerpt from The Rose-Colored World and Other Fantasies Don waring stretched his long limbs, yawned gener onely and opened his eyes, opened his eyes indeed, and stared amazedly at the sky through the trees. Stared, stared as he had never done before in his life, for Don´s eyes were usually only half open. He stared without blinking till his eyes felt sore; stared with an astonish ment which rarely disturbs such easy-going, indolent mortals as Mr. Don Waring. Something surely most unusual had happened. And well he might stare! For above him, among the leaves and branches, glared the rosiest sky he had ever seen. Rose! Rose like the crushed leaves of the reddest roses. Rose to the north, rose to the east, rose to the south, rose to the west - a ¿aming, radiant, brilliant rose spread everywhere to the horizon. Intoxicating rose! About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Nov 14, 2018
Zum Angebot
Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6) (...
€ 2.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the sixth acclaimed mystery from Anne Perry, Thomas and Charlotte Pitt must discover the truth of a young gentleman´s sordid murder - or an innocent man will hang. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger. ´The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry´s] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes´ - Cleveland Plain Dealer The naked body of an aristocratic youth turns up in the sewers beneath Bluegate Fields, one of London´s most notorious slums. But Arthur Waybourne had been drowned in his bath, not in the Thames. More shocking still is the discovery that the boy had been violated and infected with syphilis before his murder. Despite Inspector Thomas Pitt´s efforts to investigate the crime, the family closes ranks, leaving him to wonder what they are hiding. All evidence points to Arthur´s tutor, Jerome, as the murderer, but Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, don´t believe the answer is so simple. But if not Jerome, then who? To learn the truth, Charlotte uses her familiarity with the upper classes to draw aside the curtain of lies, while Pitt defies his superior and the boy´s family to follow a trail that leads him into the foulest streets of London through a web of deceit. In a race against time, Thomas and Charlotte must find the real killer to save Jerome from the hangman´s noose. ´A thought-provoking whodunit´ ´Yet again Anne Perry keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. Her knowledge of Victorian London is remarkable ´ ´ Another winner for Anne Perry - five stars ´

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Nov 12, 2018
Zum Angebot
Ashley Bell
€ 7.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

NO. 1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE ? The must-read thriller of the year, for readers of dark psychological suspense and modern classics of mystery and adventure The girl who said no to death. Bibi Blair is a fierce, funny, dauntless young woman-whose doctor says she has one year to live. She replies, ´´We´ll see.´´ Her sudden recovery astonishes medical science. An enigmatic woman convinces Bibi that she escaped death so that she can save someone else. Someone named Ashley Bell. But save her from what, from whom? And who is Ashley Bell? Where is she? Bibi´s obsession with finding Ashley sends her on the run from threats both mystical and worldly, including a rich and charismatic cult leader with terrifying ambitions. Here is an eloquent, riveting, brilliantly paced story with an exhilarating heroine and a twisting, ingenious plot filled with staggering surprises. Ashley Bell is a new milestone in literary suspense from the long-acclaimed master. Praise for Ashley Bell ´´A mind-bender filled with satisfying surprises.´´-People (book of the week) ´´[With] lyrical writing and compelling characters . . . Koontz stands alone, and this novel is a prime example of literary suspense. . . . One of his best.´´-Associated Press ´´Grabs you on page one and keeps you enthralled with ever widening loops of intrigue, spine-tingling plot twists, absorbing characters and emotional involvement . . . extraordinary.´´-Bookreporter ´´Heart-pounding and mind boggling . . . a rarity of a thriller-one that asks big questions about life and destiny while succeeding in creating [an] eerie sense of reality.´´-Shelf Awareness ´´Strap in and hold on. . . . When a writer has managed to catch this kind of lightning in a bottle, every reader should experience the full jolt.´´-BookPage

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 26, 2018
Zum Angebot